Award Shortlist

January 31, 2017

Congratulations to Richard Van Camp and all of the ReLit Awards Shortlist nominees. We are thrilled to see Night Moves on this distinguished list!

‘Tis The Season

December 13, 2016

Seasons greetings and all the best in 2017!


Best Book

November 15, 2016

Congratulations to Natasha Deen – Gatekeeper has been selected as a Best Book by the Canadian Children’s Book Centre! Pick up the Fall 2016 edition of the magazine for full details.

Author Wins Cross-Border Fiction Prize!

October 13, 2016

Congratulations to Tyler Enfield – Madder Carmine has won the High Plains Book Award for Fiction! From the judges:

Madder Carmine is a masterpiece… Enfield’s fever dream of a classical quest is dizzying, poetic and original… a major work that deserves to be celebrated.”

We also received word this morning that Madder Carmine, as well as Natasha Deen’s Gatekeeper, have won Silver medals at the Moonbeam Book Awards. An excellent start to the fall season!

Farewell Mr. Kinsella

September 19, 2016

We were saddened to hear about the passing of the great W.P. Kinsella this weekend. Enfield & Wizenty is proud to have published Mr. Kinsella’s final manuscript, Butterfly Winter. Godspeed, sir.

Our authors at Thin Air!

August 30, 2016

The Thin Air International Writer’s Festival takes place in Winnipeg from September 23 to October 1 and we’ve got a collection of Great Plains writers taking part!

Weird Winnipeg, September 23 at 9 – Jonathan Ball and Daria Patrie from The Shadows Over Portage And Main will give you the jitters.

Gala: Celebrating Manitoba, September 24 at 7:30 – Carolyn Gray is part of this outstanding line-up of Manitoba writers!

Voices from Oodena, September 25 at 7 – Leonard Flett joins fellow Manitoba writers in this traditional gathering place at The Forks.

Brandon University, September 26 – Richard Van Camp will be in Brandon to deliver a workshop on Designing Unforgettable Characters, as well as reading from The Lesser Blessed on the book’s 20th anniversary.

We hope to see you at the festival this year!


New Website, New Staff!

July 26, 2016

We have a new website! We’ve worked with Relish New Brand on this refresh. If you spot any errors or oddities during your browse, send them to us at

Speaking of new arrivals, our Managing Editor Catharina de Bakker has welcomed a new baby girl to her family. We will miss her during her maternity leave, but are delighted to have Irene Bindi join our team to ensure we stay on track. Welcome Irene!


June 22, 2016

Congratulations to Tyler Enfield on his High Plains Book Awards nomination for Madder Carmine! We have just signed Tyler’s newest adventure novel for middle-grade readers and can’t wait to announce details.

Bravo as well to Natasha Deen, who just received a glowing review for Gatekeeper from CanLit For Little Canadians. We agree that she is the Princess of Paranormal!


We are delighted to announce that Night Moves by Richard Van Camp has won the Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Book Prize and Jodi Carmichael’s Forever Julia has won the McNally Robinson Book For Young People Award. Congratulations to Richard and Jodi and all of the nominees!


Nominations have been announced for the Alberta Book Awards and the Manitoba Book Awards and it is exciting to see our authors on both lists.


Richard Van Camp’s Night Moves is up for the Georges Bugnet Award for Fiction, and “Born A Girl” is on the Howard O’Hagan Award for Short Story list.

Joining Richard on the Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Book Prize Shortlist is Tyler Enfield with his novel, Madder Carmine.


In Manitoba, both A Daytripper’s Guide to Manitoba by Bartley Kives and Wish You Were Here by Stan Milosovic are nominated for the Manuela Dias Book Design and Illustration Award for General Illustration.

Leonard G. Flett’s From The Barren Lands is up for the Best First Book Award.

Jodi Carmichael is nominated as Most Promising Manitoba Writer, and her novel, Forever Julia, is up for the Book For Young People Award in the Older Reader category.

Congratulations to all of the nominees!